About the Port Adelaide Electorate

Name Derivation: Named after the locality which was discovered by Collet Barker in 1831.

Area and Location Description: Port Adelaide covers an area of approximately 253 sq km from St Kilda in the north down to Grange Road in the south whilst its eastern boundary takes in parts of Salisbury. The area also includes Torrens Island and Garden Island. Other suburbs in this division are Alberton, Beverley, Birkenhead, Burton, Cheltenham, Direk, Findon, Kilkenny, Largs Bay, Mansfield Park, North Haven, Ottoway, Parafield Gardens, Paralowie, Pennington, Port Adelaide, Queenstown, Rosewater, Salisbury Downs, Salisbury North, Seaton (part), Semaphore, Woodville and West Croydon.

Products/Industries of the Area: Cement, electricity, flour mills, live sheep export, manufacturing industry, motion pictures, petroleum storage, police academy, salt, sewerage treatment, stevedoring, submarine construction, waste disposal/scrap metal merchants and wool stores.

First Proclaimed/Election: 1949

Demographic Rating: Inner Metropolitan